Social Studies and Civil Rights

Robert Moses posits that African-Americans have not been properly educated in Mathematics and this has caused them to lag far behind other racial groups in our new digitized global world.  I think Moses is too narrow in his approach as from my experience as a student and now as teacher there is a tremendous fear factor where Math is concerned for all racial groups except Asian Americans.  Moses needs to broaden his research as our public education system would greatly benefit if we could identify why Asian American thrive in Math often at accelerated levels whereas the rest of our racial groups lag far behind.  I disagree with Moses and his belief that politics surround Math instruction; Science certainly as it includes the creationism and evolution debate, and current environmental issues are met with strong political responses.

As a Social Studies teacher I have no doubt that there are those who have been denied access to my subject, but in my role as instructor I have discovered that I have power in what and how my students learn.  For example, New York State’s 11th grade History curriculum dictates a linear approach yet I don’t always teach that format.  I love to teach about Civil Rights and since NYS places it at the end of the year-long curriculum it doesn’t get the time that it needs as we often rush to the finish in order to get ready for the Regents.  To correct this flaw I have implemented a non-linear approach in that when I teach the Civil War and Reconstruction, I jump ahead to Civil Rights, starting with the beginning of the movement in 1950 .  The students are able to grasp the connections between these three eras despite the lack of chronology, and they really enjoy it.  This unit is my proudest accomplishment as an educator. 

NY is attempting to change with the times regardless of what the uninformed may think.  The Social Studies curriculum no longer focuses solely on white men, as women, and leaders from other racial groups are featured.  NY State does not shy away from the many wrongs that America has committed throughout history, and the internment of Japanese citizens during WWII is strongly emphasized.  I also have no problems telling my students that the U.S. knew about the Holocaust as it was occurring and I can provide the primary documents from the FDR Presidential library to prove it.  In closing as with all debates in education it is imperative that educators realize that when the bell rings and that door closes they are in charge of the material and can dictate its course.

Published in: on 03/05/2010 at 10:33  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://devine10.wordpress.com/2010/03/05/social-studies-and-civil-rights/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment