I Need To Teach Like This

Chapter 5 of Literacy as Snake Oil is the single best piece of teacher-education I have ever read.  I need to say that upfront because this post is supposed to connect Lynn Asterita Gatto’s work to other literacy diversity research. I am not going to do that in this post because to do so would be a disservice to Gatto as her work needs to recognized as a superior piece of teacher research that is quite frankly better than anything I have read on literacy diversity or anything I have read about how to teach in my undergraduate and graduate coursework.  In making connections to other studies I would be doing so only because it is my task and since this is my blog I am going to exercise some online freedom here.

Gatto’s chapter inspired me in a way that I have never felt before.  I wanted to immediately begin designing units as her style of teaching is the best I have ever come across in print, and I have to find a way to translate her methods in the 4th grade classroom to my 11th grade and 12th grade classrooms.  Her theories on literacy are also the most succinct and relevant that I have read, and the fact that she has made her 4th grade classroom a completely student centered classroom is amazing.  I am still in the process of making that transition as a 11th and 12th grade Social Studies teacher.  I have to cut myself some slack though as she does have at least 20 more years experience than I have.

Gatto often writes of authenticity and this is also a prime concern in planning my lessons.  How do I get my students to become engaged and motivated by the material?  Including student-teaching I have been in classroom since 2003, and it is from Gatto’s writing that I finally have a clear plan on how to truly get student buy-in, create a student centered classroom and develop better readers and writers.  When I return to teaching in Fall 2010 I am going to follow Gatto’s method in planning my units, and I can’t wait to compare my prior methods with my new plan of action.  The possibilities are endless as Gatto’s butterfly project has shown me that I can meet state standards without teaching to the test.  I am imagining an 11th grade Classroom Civil Rights Museum modeled on and following the design of Gatto’s butterfly project, or a Graphic Novel Library, or a Public Policy Project for my 12th graders during which they would choose the policies to research or propose entirely new ones.  My role will still be the most important in that I will guide the students towards creating engaging activities and authentic questioning that expands student literacy.  The difference is that the students will take control and ownership of their own education.  I could write about Gatto’s work for months, but in closing I encourage present and future educators to click the link and below and buy Literacy as Snake Oil, Chapter 5 will inspire you and that’s something we need to bring into our classrooms every day. 

 http://www.amazon.com/Literacy-Snake-Oil-Literacies-Epistemologies/dp/0820495433/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1267682644&sr=1-1

Published in: on 03/05/2010 at 10:33  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://devine10.wordpress.com/2010/03/05/i-need-to-teach-like-this/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment